Online User
We have 10 guests online
Home Disaster Management

Disaster Management

District Disaster Management and Coordination Unit

The Disaster Management Centre has been established under the National Council for Disaster Management in accordance with the Sri Lanka Disaster Management Act No. 13 of 2005 passed by the Parliament of Sri Lanka on 13th May 2005.



Safer communities and sustainable development in Sri Lanka



To create a culture of safety among communities and the nation at large through Systematic management of natural, technological and man-made disaster risks.



Through countrywide ministries, departments and public corporations, Provincial Councils and local authority administration; and district, division and Grama Niladhari administration; to enforce, coordinate and monitor activities related to,

  1. Hazard Mapping and Risk Assessment
  2. Information Management
  3. Long-term disaster mitigation
  4. Forecasting, early warning and information dissemination
  5. Preparedness to respond to disasters when they occur
  6. Emergency Operations Management
  7. Management of the post-disaster activities after a disaster


The Services Provides to Citizen

  1. Early warning and Emergency response
  2. Training & Awareness related disaster risk reduction
  3. Support to Structural and non structural mitigation in the vulnerable area
  4. Provide training and sharing spatial data of the district
  5. Effective coordination related to emergency & crisis
  6. Support for research and development the area of Disaster Risk Reduction
  7. Facilitate to Disaster Risk Assessment and provide information
  8. Preparation of Preparedness and Emergency Response Plan for
  • Village Level
  • Divisional Level
  • District Level
  • Institutional Level
  • School Level
  • Hospital
No Contact Point Address Telephone

Ministry of Disaster Management

No.383, Bauddhaloka Mawatha, Colombo – 07.

0112695013/ 2681980


Disaster Management Center

2-222,BMICH, Bauddhaloka Mawatha, Colombo – 07.



District Disaster Management Coordinating Unit

District Secretariat, Mullaitivu



District Secretary